This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our Cookie Policy.
Book Now

Reviews

8.3 Review Score
Score Breakdown
Cleanliness
8.9
Comfort
8.1
Property Location
8.3
Facilities
7.9
Staff
8.8
Value
7.9
Reviews
    Darrel
    us
    7.1
    August 23, 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    tw
    8.8
    July 6, 2017
    A short stay
    Not enough toilets. Did not offer dinner since the town is way too small to find a place to dine.
    Comfortable rooms and showers. Good breakfast.
    GARY GRUBE
    us
    5.4
    June 21, 2017
    Only restaurant in community is closed 9 months of year. Lavatory in the room, toilet down the hall, showers in the basement. Marginal wifi.
    Congenial host and above average breakfast
    Mollie
    us
    10
    April 29, 2017
    Great place
    Clean and friendly staff
    Michael
    us
    7.5
    September 5, 2016
    Facilities were just okay
    Great location in town next to good restaurants Good value
    Filipa
    pt
    8.8
    August 29, 2016
    The showers are in a different floor from the bedroom's.
    We loved our host who was the nicest person we met on our trip and really took time to make us feel welcome and comfortable, give us travelling tips, and tell us more about Iceland and life in Iceland. The guesthouse was clean and very comfortable and the breakfast was quite good. We really enjoyed our stay.
    Jennifer
    au
    9.6
    August 18, 2016
    Indeed a comfy place to stay
    Room spacious and well fitted out Hosts very pleasant Excellent breakfast with a divine cake
    Bradley
    us
    9.2
    August 15, 2016
    There are no comments available for this review.
    xa
    9.2
    August 8, 2016
    There are no comments available for this review.
    rebecca
    us
    8.3
    July 31, 2016
    Cute and great breakfast included
    The breakfast was wonderful. The town was so cute and little but needed to drive to do much. Great little stay over.
    CVmomma
    us
    9.6
    July 26, 2016
    Sudureyri surprise
    The smell at low tide.
    Friendly staff, comfy beds, good breakfast, good showers. Oh, did I mention comfy beds?
    SylviaYuanShuang
    ca
    2.5
    July 26, 2016
    Rude Host couple - called police on us
    Part 2: Shortly after, they both came out again to check on us and by then the tension was already building up. Mind you, my father is 62 years old and had never been treated this way so disrespectfully. In my culture, you turn the lights off while ur guests are still eating and AND repeatedly confront us like that is equivalent to kicking us out. At that point, we just cannot tolerate it. It's just ridiculous. Why run a hostel/guest house business if you are going to act difficult like this? My father definitely overreacted by raising his voice at the host couple (which I later apologized to the couple for) but it's just ridiculous that we were "welcomed" this way. The host also said he called the police who never showed up. Really?! We are experienced travellers and try our best to follow all the rules. Trust me, there was no indication that says 1) we cannot go in to the kitchen 2) we cannot touch the food that was left on the counter 3) our apology was not accepted and the host couple would repeatedly let us know they were upset. Folks, the place is clean and the location is beautiful but I wish you don't end up with this experience, also hoping the host learned something for their future business's sake. This is coming from a extremely hurt customer. (Further note: i do read some reviews before booking the place .. The ones I read all mentioned " kind funny nice staff", but it makes me wonder if their niceness only go as far as you don't eat their food accidently during your stay!)
    part 1: The host couple were extremely difficult and unpleasant to us. We called ahead of time to notify the host that we would be arriving later than 10pm and were told it's ok. When we arrived, the keys were left on the counter with a note asking us to help ourselves to our room. We managed to carry all 3 luggages upstairs with minimal noise and whispered the entire time. Then we tiptoed to the kitchen to warm up some food we bought on the way. there was an Apple pie and several pieces of bread on the kitchen counter, no signs or note. We cut two small slices of the pie and were feeling really welcomed! OH Noooo we were wrong! The host guy (who also lives here) came out and told us that we were not supposed to eat the food because it's for breakfast tomorrow. And the kitchen is not public but off limit to the guests. Hey I totally get it - we are visiting, we need to respect their house rules. I immediately apologized numerous times and offered to reimburse and compensate him if there's anything we could do in this situation. He was still very upset, with an angry disappointed look. He asked "So you were just going to eat this pie and hope I didn't find out until tomorrow?" I was shocked when I heard this. I didn't know what to say... Isn't this something you say to a 10 year old caught for stealing or something? That's fine, I get it, you r upset. But BUT as he walked away, he put a chair in front of our face and blocked the entrance to the inside kitchen, and turned off the lights while my parents and I were sitting in the dining room in the dark. It is extremely rude and disrespectful to any guests, let alone three tired travelers who had been driving 10 hours to get to this place. Then 5 minutes later, the female staff (the host guys gf) came to the dining room to confront us for eating her pie. I apologized again and again to her and she went inside.
    Leigh
    us
    9.2
    July 24, 2016
    Quaint, comfortable inn
    The inn was clean and the breakfast offered many choices including a delicious apple cake and home made jams. The owner is a wonderful host who made us feel welcome.
    Michele
    us
    10
    July 17, 2016
    Comfy Guesthouse deserves its name--excellent choice!
    The WiFi froze frequently; maybe there were just too many people on it at once. That was the only problem, though. Also, just as a suggestion: the dry area of the shower stalls could use a shelf in addition to hooks--useful for glasses or toilet kits.
    This is a fairly new (3 years old) guesthouse run by a charming young couple who are doing everything to ensure their guests have a good experience. We had a very comfortable triple room in a corner of the building with large windows looking out on the fjord. The shared bathroom was on the same floor; we had to wait a few times but not for more than a few minutes. Showers were down two sets of stairs, but that was less complicated than it sounds. There were four very nice shower stalls that were so modern they looked like they were installed yesterday. The showers also had plenty of privacy and no wait at all. Breakfast was delicious--the buffet had all the usual items (cereal, breads, jams, meats, cheese, veggies), but it also had make-yourself Belgin waffles and homemade cakes, all of which were delicious. It was one of our most successful accommodations on a 17-day trip and it was also the best value. I wouldn't hesitate for a moment to stay here again.
    us
    8.8
    July 11, 2016
    Clean and quiet
    Shared bathrooms and showers downstairs. They were all very nice, just not in the rooms. Also, no laundry facilities.
    The staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was great.
    Ryan
    us
    9.6
    May 19, 2016
    Truly comfy.
    Wouldve loved to be able to cook dinner in the kitchen, but they allowed us to keep items in the fridge for later.
    The room was comfortable and spacious, facilities clean, and the couple that runs the places was very friendly. Free breakfast was also great!! We didnt see anyone else there, but could imagine it being a bit crowded when full.
Close